For Opinion, click here for View from the Racetrack Grandstand

Sunday, February 28, 2016


by john manzi, for NAADA

The seventh leg of the NAADA trotting series saw two former Passover Pace champions  each drive a winner in their respective splits. Bobby Krivelin (2011 & 2013) won the first $6000 split with Permanent Joy while Alan Schwartz (2002, 2004 &2006) copped the other $6000 trot with Current Crisis. But since the competitors in amateur racing don’t receive any remuneration Krivelin emerged as the big winner since his Hero Stables own both trotters.

After starting from the pole position in his non-wagering trot, Krivelin allowed Mr. Invincible (Matt Zuccarello) to take command on the first turn but once the field straightened on the backstretch Krivelin then quickly retook the lead before the quarter mile timer flashed :29.4. From there Permanent Joy was on cruise control as the 8-year-old Trot For Joy gelding went on to an oh-so-easy five-length triumph over Warrawee Preferred, driven by Dr. Scott Woogen. Although Mr. Invincible shadowed the winner throughout, he ended up third some seven lengths behind Permanent Joy.

“Permanent Joy loves to be on top and he just straightens out and seems to get stronger and stronger,” Krivelin related after his triumph, and then added, “He never sees a harness until he goes to the races because he lives outside 24-7. Oh, occasionally I’ll tow him behind a golf cart so he moves along a good clip but he loves the outdoors and I have lots of big beautiful paddocks on my farm in Goshen (NY).”

Krivelin, a food purveyor by trade, has been a three- time recipient of the National Amateur Driver of the Year Award and with his victory on Saturday he now has driven 187 winners in a career which began in 1996. It was his third victory in the current NAADA Trotting series and his 48 points are 15 better than runner-up Dave Yarock’s 33. Hannah Miller is third with 31 points.

A second split saw another former National Amateur Driver of the Year, Alan Schwartz guide  Current Crisis to a 1:59.1 victory.

In their split, Schwartz’s trotter started from the pylon position but he allowed Dave Yarock and Nautilus De Vie, to take command after the start. Biding his time in the two hole Schwartz stalked the leader until the field rounded the final turn at which point he eased Current Crisis to the outside and the 7-year old Current Cast gelding trotted  by Nautilus De Vie and went on to a three length triumph. Peter Kleinhans rallied Windsun Galliano from far back to finish second just a neck ahead of Nautilus De Vie.

“It’s been a long time between pots but I finally had some power,” Schwartz said referring to Current Crisis’s abilities. “Still, I had a perfect trip and didn’t have to move until the stretch and it’s a nice feeling when you pull on the leader and your horse goes by him and wins the race.”

But Schwartz has had that feeling more times than any current amateur driver competing today. It was his 565th driving victory and with the passing of “Boots” Dunn, Schwartz is now the winningest amateur driver racing today.